Dawn hike on the Tanyard Trail at Shaker Village

I got up early this morning to get a hike in before the rain hit, and it started before I finished my hike, but that is OK. I like to hike in the rain if there is no lightning. I like to hike early, when I can, to see things in a different light. I wanted to start right at dawn, but it ended up about a half hour later.  Here are some of the sights.

IMG_5449

I hiked the Tanyard trail, with a few side hikes to the waterfall, and the overhang over the creek.

IMG_5462

It started out with sunshine.

IMG_5466

The event barn from the Tanyard trail.

IMG_5467

A lovely start, but clouds were starting to roll in.

IMG_5472

There is a snake streaking out there somewhere! He left his clothes behind!

IMG_5475

Here is the split, where if you go straight, it is a connector that is the shorter version of the Tanyard trail, and if you go right, you stay on the main part of the Tanyard trail. The connector ends up on the part of the Tanyard trail that is on the ridge across from Shaker Village.

IMG_5477

On down the Tanyard trail.

IMG_5479

IMG_5482

These beautiful flowers are all over out there.

IMG_5491

Sometime I need to do a post just on the mushrooms I see out there! There is such a variety!

IMG_5492

IMG_5494

Here is where the Tanyard trail starts to run parallel to Morgan Lane.

IMG_5503

He is keeping an eye on me! He looks a bit soaked!

IMG_5504 IMG_5507

A pond along the way and a stream feeding into it.

IMG_5511

This is what happens to you when you stay out in a storm. Unfortunately for the Ents they cannot get in out of the weather!

IMG_5528

More of the yellow flowers along the trail. This is the backside of the Tanyard trail. where you see the trail meet the tree line, is where the trail turns left, away from Morgan Lane.

IMG_5533

Picnic anyone? You will have to pack your stuff a bit to get here, it is near the back of the trail.

IMG_5535

Good place to rest your feet and enjoy the view. This bench is just down from the picnic table.

IMG_5548

Oh! The webs we weave!

IMG_5561

Rain coming down, but I am almost back to the village. This is the part of the Tanyard trail, on the ridge, across from the back side of Shaker Village. I started in the parking lot, behind the East Dwelling house, and I turned right after going through the stone fence, towards HWY 68 and I ended up along this ridge and back up to the village. I love it out here, rain or shine, or snow.

IMG_5502

The coon wanted to say goodbye, before I finished! He also said he was watching you!

One thought on “Dawn hike on the Tanyard Trail at Shaker Village

Leave a Reply

